Skip to content

Sewing for the Sweeties in Kenya

December 3, 2009

I’ve set a date to make dresses for the girls in Kenya. We will be working on Saturday, Jan 9, from 9 am – 3 pm.  You will need to contact me to assist with this. If you can provide cotton fabric, or layout the patterns, or pin and cut, or if you have some sewing experience, and can do some of the sewing, let me know your skill set, when you commit to volunteer.

You don’t need to volunteer all day, but I ask that if you are coming to sew only, please know that we won’t need sewing volunteers until 10:30 at the earliest. We will be doing layout, pinning and cutting of the first sets prior to that. If you have sufficient skills to lead 3 volunteers in layout and cutting, let me know that. I will need cutters, assemblers(pinning), and sewing volunteers. We don’t want more than about 8 people in the studio at a time, however.

The village we are making for is receiving 50 dresses in Jan for toddler through size 8. We will be working on size 10 and size 12 dresses.

Let me know if you can participate: maidensweaver@earthlink.net

No comments yet

Leave a comment