Skip to content

Still working on the cycling jersey

April 21, 2010

The cycling jersey was delayed a few days. The Jersey I was designing had a separating zipper that you could put on like a jacket. The problem is that the local sewing stores only carry those in very heavy zippers. I need a lightweight, long separating zipper. After searching a bit, I changed the design (because I want to wear my jersey), and went forward with  a half-zip jersey. I’d like to put a mesh insert in the front so I can unzip and cool down. I’d also like to have open-pits, and a few other changes, but I’m still working on the design, and awaiting the purchase of a serger. I may get a serger on Friday. We’ll see.

In the meantime, here are the pics. You can see that I managed to use some heat-set reflective transfer to put some falling hearts on the shirt for visibility. And a couple of pouches on the back. The reflective strip is crooked, because I should have put it on before assembling the shirt, but the nature of a prototype is that it’s evolving as it’s created. I love it!

You can see that I used flash in some pics to show the reflective quality of the tape, and without flash in others so you could see the hearts.

What do you think?

Cherri

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

