Skip to content

Quilting Workshop in WV

October 13, 2013

I just had the most wonderful day at a workshop sponsored by one of the quilting guilds I’m a member of in WV. Michelle Hill, of WV Quilt in Barboursville, WV came and taught us to make quilt squares using the Stack-n-whack method.
There were about 12 people present and everyone made a successful block. I got lots of pictures and will post some in a little while.
Next Saturday, I’ll be in Monterey, Virginia quilting with a small group there, thanks to my new friend, Carroll Barlow. More in a bit.

 

 

Just a bit later:

OK, here are some pics of the workshop we had in Marlinton, with the Cranberry Piecemakers.  Here is what a good stack-n-whack looks like: DSC_0022There are some practice or demo squares sitting on the quilt, in the foreground. This one is an 8 point star. The ones I’ve seen are always pinwheel or fan-like using multiples of the identical pieces of fabric. It takes a good bit of care laying out and pinning the fabric so the pattern is stacked perfectly, but it’s well worth it.

Once you cut out your pieces, you do what Michelle calls “auditioning” the stars. Each star is made from 8 identical diamonds. The diamonds have the pattern of the fabric on them, so you can get 2 completely different stars by putting one point in the center versus the other set of points in the center. Here is an example. My first set of diamonds had a little red squiggle on one end. When I put those in the center, I got a star-like pattern in the center: DSC_0027 It’s surrounded by the two tomatoes, and that winds up with a great red focal point around the center of the star, but…. if I put the blue cans toward the center of the star, DSC_0028The star looks very different. I’m going to include some pictures of sets of stars with differing points in, so you can see what a stunning set of stars my fabric provided:

DSC_0029 DSC_0030I loved the first of these because they created what looked like a laurel wreath in the center. But, I saw neither star as a loser. DSC_0031 DSC_0032Michelle talked to us about how sometimes you will get a strong center focal point and other times, you’ll get a wreath-like center focal point while you can also wind up with a stronger focal point further out, depending simply on this simple step of “auditioning”

DSC_0033 DSC_0034Another consideration is what your background fabric will be. On Bonnie’s quilt, the stars looked really striking on a red background, whereas they were not nearly as well exhibited on yellow. So, when auditioning, be sure to use the actual background fabric or potential choices in order to differentiate the prettiest. DSC_0044 DSC_0045Choosing my fabric for this workshop was grueling for me. I didn’t know how the block was made, so I didn’t really know what types of shapes and colors to choose. Ultimately, I choose this vintage-looking veggie/canned goods pattern because of the many blues and greens with the vibrant reds. I didn’t want a strong yellow presence or orange because of the “primary color” association. (I’m not really into primaries for my own work, but really appreciate in other people’s work)

DSC_0046 DSC_0047

I didn’t feel that this square was very talented, but with the other squares, It will be fine and they can’t all be stars. Oh, well, in this instance, they can, but they can’t all be celebs.DSC_0048 DSC_0049 DSC_0050 DSC_0051 DSC_0052

So, what do you think, and do you have a favorite? What do you think of this veggie fabric? Though I was very dubious going into it, I think it turned out to be the perfect fabric for my first stack-n-whack. It was a great workshop and I’m thankful to know Michelle.

I’m attaching some pics of the workshop and us doing our quilt-thing. You’ll see my friend, Deb, the owner of the fabric store in Hillsboro, WV. She carries beautiful quilting fabric and is a hoot. It was good to be at a workshop with women who laugh freely, and still work diligently. Quilting is serious business, you know. Especially in WV.DSC_0018 DSC_0019 DSC_0020 DSC_0037 DSC_0038 DSC_0042

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

