Skip to content

Preparing for the Christmas Season

November 14, 2013

As Thanksgiving and Christmas approach, people have less and less desire to book weekly classes that might interfere with family visits, holiday parties, shopping, cooking and otherwise preparing for and celebrating our blessings. So classes for the final session of 2013 cancelled at all locations. So sad, but it allows our household to prepare for the Christmas holiday and for me to offer some specialty workshop and private lessons. I miss being at Hobby Lobby regularly, but do still manage to get there to shop often.

This coming Wednesday, I have a “learn to use your sewing machine” workshop for 2 hours, 6-8 pm at the Chesterfield Hobby Lobby. We will be sewing a zippered pillow. Students will need to buy about $15 worth of materials and I recommend they come 15 min early, in order to do that before class. I’ll be there to assist. Cost of the class is $35. I have 3 spots in the class still open. It’s a single class, from 6-8 in which students learn to do basic stitching using their machine and they should leave class with a 16″ square pillow.

I’ve got a student looking for a little instruction in the next couple of weeks. She is an absolute beginner and I’d like to put us on the calendar for the first Thursday evening in December from 6-8 pm at the Short Pump Hobby Lobby. If other students are interested, I have 3 spots open. It will be an “intro to the sewing machine” class also. Anyone interested should contact me and I’ll send them a registration form. Cost is $35 and that fee must be paid by midnight on the Friday before class. I accept Paypal, or you can mail payment to me. Hobby Lobby does not accept payment for my classes.

I’m also offering a kids Holiday Sewing Camp at each Hobby Lobby store on the weekdays between Christmas and New Years. Sadly, this year, those days are split by a weekend, but we will still have a great time. We will meet form 9-noon at the Chesterfield Hobby Lobby and from 1-4 at the Short PUmp Hobby Lobby. We have discovered that 4 students is the optimal # for these sessions, so registration is limited to 4. contact me for registration form. Registration and Payment must be made by midnight on 12/15. Payments by Paypal and through the mail are accepted. Gift Certificates are available.

In my own studio, I’m quilting this week. I’ll post pics in another post. I also will be posting pictures of the wonderful work of the folks in my last 2 sewing classes under another title today.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

