Skip to content

Pink and Red big star quilt squares

November 15, 2013

The squares for the big star quilt are nearly complete. I had to find fabric for one more star this morning. I DID promise to get the pictures up yesterday, but got so busy quilting, that the camera and computer didn’t drift back into my mind until very late. So, here they are today.

The green fabric is what I'm considering as sashing. Looks good here, but I'm not sure it will look good with every block. I'll have to work on some layout designs to better determine that.

The green fabric is what I’m considering as sashing. Looks good here, but I’m not sure it will look good with every block. I’ll have to work on some layout designs to better determine that.

This is after it's sewn. I iron a lot. It tends to give better joins.

This is after it’s sewn. I iron a lot. It tends to give better joins.

I love these fabrics together. Typically I don't like fabrics with metallics in them and yet each of the star fabrics in this star has a metalic in it. Ya never know what you're going to like, until you jump in. This is before it's sewn.

I love these fabrics together. Typically I don’t like fabrics with metallics in them and yet each of the star fabrics in this star has a metalic in it. Ya never know what you’re going to like, until you jump in. This is before it’s sewn.

DSC_0014

Here you can see how well the seams match up, once that 1/4" extension is taken up as a seam allowance.

Here you can see how well the seams match up, once that 1/4″ extension is taken up as a seam allowance.

DSC_0008 DSC_0009 DSC_0010 DSC_0011

Here you can see that 1/4" excess again. I mentioned that I cut this off on my first quilt, only to find out later that it ruined my points and caused my other joins to be mismatched. I've learned to leave it, thanks to my friends in the Cranberry Piecemakers!

Here you can see that 1/4″ excess again. I mentioned that I cut this off on my first quilt, only to find out later that it ruined my points and caused my other joins to be mismatched. I’ve learned to leave it, thanks to my friends in the Cranberry Piecemakers!

DSC_0007

When I made my first quilt, I thought something was wrong when I had this extra fabric on the edges of my stars and I trimmed it off. Then, when I sewed the sashing to the blocks, I seamed up all the starts pretty points! ugh. Fortunately, I am now proud to have 1/4" beyond each point for seaming blocks together, or to their sashing.

When I made my first quilt, I thought something was wrong when I had this extra fabric on the edges of my stars and I trimmed it off. Then, when I sewed the sashing to the blocks, I seamed up all the starts pretty points! ugh. Fortunately, I am now proud to have 1/4″ beyond each point for seaming blocks together, or to their sashing.

close-up of my center point.

close-up of my center point.

DSC_0004 DSC_0003

This is a batik (that's what they call this in the stores, but it's actually a custom dye, rather than a batik) and a small geometric print. The point looks correct.

This is a batik (that’s what they call this in the stores, but it’s actually a custom dye, rather than a batik) and a small geometric print. The point looks correct.

When working with stripes making starts and other quilt blocks, you want to experiment with placement of stripe direction. These are on opposites. Again, the center point and all corners are very close to perfect. This is very different from my first big star quilt.

When working with stripes making starts and other quilt blocks, you want to experiment with placement of stripe direction. These are on opposites. Again, the center point and all corners are very close to perfect. This is very different from my first big star quilt.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

