Skip to content

Stretch knit tops

October 14, 2014

I’ve been wanting to make turtleneck tops. Last year you almost couldn’t find a commercial pattern for them. This year, I found one for a turtleneck and an offset, open cowl collar that I like a lot. So, last weekend, I got the Huskylock serger out and made a couple of the open neck cowls.
They took about an hour each. I’m not 100% pleased with the results. there is a place at the collar where the seam allowance shows and there is a drape across the front because the shoulders are way too wide, making the sleeves drop. The arm-hole also needs to be cut deeper. I do wonder what training pattern-makers receive to work at mccalls and simplicity. Hmmmmmmm, I’m going to have to find a way to modify this pattern. Pictures are posted below.

I often have students take a sewing class or lesson so the can make clothes for people with special fitting needs. I love working with people to help them work out special challenges!
We are headed to Beckley, wv today, to take the Janome serger in for some much needed service at Best Fabric & Foam where Tom can get my machine running and I can peruse his upholstery fabric selection. The Hubster is with me, so I may be a little restrainedin my buying.
Gotta go. Remember that the beginners sewing classes start back on 11/5 in Chesterfield and 11/6 in Short Pump. Email me for a registration form! See ya in the sewing room đŸ˜€

IMG_0351-4.JPG

IMG_0340-0.JPG

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

