Skip to content

A quilt panel as a door?

March 29, 2015

We live in and are rennovating an old farmhouse. In that process, we are trying to increase it’s energy efficiency. As a part of that effort, we are adding doors to the kitchen, living room and hallways that would otherwise be open. It doesn’t make sense to me to put up so many wooden doors in room we just want to “not heat”, rather than rooms that need privacy. So, I have begun making a set of 3 “soft doors”. They are quilt panels just larger than the door that are on hinged quilt racks so they can be swing open and closed.

Yesterday, I finished the first of these. Here is a picture of the panel as I was trying to determine the size pocket to put at the top: DSC_0030

This is the view of the soft door from my kitchen, but when it swings open, it hangs over a bare section of wall across the hall from the front door. So it becomes a piece of functional art, viewable to all guests who come to the front door.

This project turned out to be better than I thought. My husband will extend the rack, as it is about 3.5″ too short and I’ll have to install a sleeve at the bottom of the door to insert a weighted rod, as the room has such a positive airflow that it billows out even though it has batting and is quilted!

This panel represents my first efforts at crazy quilting. I enjoyed crazy quilting and will do more of it once my studio is more functional. Until then, I’m too messy with crazy quilting to keep the work out so I can work on it continuously.

Though I did the piecing, designing and sewing of the quilt, It was hand-quilted by a friend, here in WV.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 29, 2015 11:44 am

    What a great solution to this problem. It looks great, too.

    • rivercityweaves permalink*
      March 29, 2015 11:45 am

      Thank you. I love soft goods throughout the house.

  2. Chaka permalink
    March 29, 2015 10:15 pm

    Pretty. What a great idea.

  3. rivercityweaves permalink*
    March 29, 2015 10:49 pm

    Thanks Chaka. We are loving how the house is coming together. We worked on the studio today, as the maple syrup was boiling down.

Leave a Reply

