Skip to content

Sometimes I’m weaving instead of sewing

February 17, 2016

We had a great sewing class in Beckley last night. This is my first year of teaching in the WV winter. I was worried there might be a lot of class cancelations due to weather, but it’s been pretty good this year. I’ll post pictures of class later, or tomorrow.

I quilt, sew clothing and home decor and I teach folks those things, but I also weave and spin yarn, and make hand-made felt. Those things, I’ve been teaching for over 20 years. But 2 years ago, my husband retired and we moved to WV and our belongings have been in a state of upheaval between various places and not easily at hand. Two weeks ago, though, my husband finally finished the renovation on our living room. We bought new furniture and just about a week ago, I began setting up a loom to weave a new throw for the new living room. We wanted the colors to nearly match the floral print of the new chairs. I finished the throw today and here is a picture of it on the new furniture.

It’s big and has long, soft fringe. We think the colors are a very good match and I can’t wait to take a nap under it. That’s not likely to happy though, because before I ever finish one project, I’ve got another 2 or 3 plotting in my mind.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

